Gestures – Performance and Sound Art -Museum of Contemporary Art, Roskilde

Gestures – Performance and Sound Art

Künstler: Vaerst , Yoko Ono, Christian Marclay, John Cage, Allan Kaprow, Eric Andersen, Aiko Suzuki, Philip Corner & Ann Noel & Thomas C. Uebelherr, Nina Beier & Marie Lund, Yvette Brackmann, Kerstin Cmelka, Henning Christiansen & Joseph Beuys, Lilibeth Cuenca, Brad Downey, Goodipal , Gudrun Hasle, High Heel Sisters , Judith Hopf, Illutron , Frans Jacobi, Kirsten Justesen, Steffen Jorgensen & Allan Nicolaisen & Robert Kjaer Clausen & Ditte Soria, Peter Land, Ann Lislegaard, Paul McCarthy, Al Masson, NSOM , Olof Olsson, Egill Saebjörnsson & Marcia Moraes, Morten Sondergaard & Jonas Breum Jensen, Vinyl Terror & Horror & Dr. Nexus, Matthias Wermke & Mischa Leinkauf

Reminder.. .. Brads work will exhibit starting.. 24th of April – 6th of June, 2010: … Its an evolving exhibition.

Gestures is an exhibition highlighting the artwork as action and process. Through documentation of performances, concerts and other events from the 1950s to the present day, the museum will constitute the framework for a series of spatial sound installations, performance footage and live performances. Works from the museum collection are combined with works and projects of a number of invited artists.

The exhibition Gestures is a study of how to preserve the art object for historical examination. If the performance or concert is the work, what should a museum then collect, when the object is missing? The issue is central to art after 1950, many works have been lost due to missing documentation or its lack of maintenance. The exhibition Gestures is part of a parallel research around issues related to archiving and preservation of the more volatile types of art, such as sound and performance art.

Overview of the changes:

The full period of time:
Eric Andersen (DK), Nina Beier & Marie Lund (DK), John Cage (US), Philip Corner (US) & Ann Nöel (UK), Goodiepal / Gæoudjiparl – The Århus Warrior (DK), Henning Christiansen (DK), Allan Kaprow (US), Yoko Ono (JP/US), Akio Suzuki (JP), Morten Søndergaard & Jonas Breum Jensen (DK) and Thomas C. Uebelherr (US)

16th of January – 7th of March, 2010:
Henning Christiansen (DK) & Joseph Beuys (D), Christian Marclay (US), Lilibeth Cuenca Rasmussen (DK), Egill Sæbjørnsson (IS) & Marcia Moraes (BR) and Værst (DK)

16th of January – 14th of March, 2010:
Kirsten Justesen (DK)

9th of March – 23th of April, 2010:
High Heel Sisters (DK/N/S)  Judith Hopf & Deborah Schamoni (D) and Lilibeth Cuenca Rasmussen (DK),

13th of March – 6th of June, 2010:
Ann Lislegaard (DK)

19th of March – 6th of June, 2010:
Kerstin Cmelka (AT), Gudrun Hasle (DK), Steffen Jørgensen & Allan Nicolaisen & Robert Kjær Clausen & Ditte Soria (DK), Al Masson (F/DK) Olof Olsson (DK) and Paul McCarthy (US)

24th of April – 6th of June, 2010:
Brad Downey (US), Frans Jacobi (DK), Peter Land (DK), Matthias Wermke & Mischa Leinkauf (D) and VinylTerror & -Horror (DK) + Dr. Nexus (Bln)

%d bloggers like this: